The former soup-bottling and crate-nailing plant, which is under a cantonal heritage protection order, was built in 1931. Shortly after in 1940 two storeys were added, characterizing the interior by overly high spaces with galleries. The project aims to enhance this unique spatial quality and harness it for an identity-generating working environment. A single sculptural and cascading staircase provides access to all floors. The additional floors continue the basic structure of the building through two-storey orangeries along the facades. The history of upward extension is repeated in this way.