Share on Social Media

Galegos House

CompanyRaulino Silva Architect
Lead DesignersRaulino Silva
Design TeamRaulino Silva, Daniela Amorim, Cátia Sampaio, João Mendes, Hélder Jesus, Carla Ribeiro, Elena Marino, Giuliano Pavarese
Project LocationGalegos, Barcelos, Portugal
CreditsPhoto by: João Morgado
Prize(s)Honorable Mention
Project LinkView
Entry Description

The single-family house is located in Galegos de Santa Maria, Barcelos, a plot terrain with circa 4000 sqm.
The program is distributed over four independent volumes that are interconnected by a central patio. All over the patio’s perimeter is created a corridor allowing the access and the relation between the different spaces of the house. The corridor and the patio are only separated by window frame and two walls built with granite stone of the existing ruin.
The main entrance arises between the garage volume and the living-room and kitchen volume.


Raulino Silva was born in 1981, in the city of Vila do Conde (northern Portugal) and is an architect at the Escola Superior Artística do Porto.
Since 2011, he has his own office in Vila do Conde, where with his team of architects he has developed several housing projects and some equipment.
He has regularly participated in publications, exhibitions, workshops and conferences.

Awards and Prize

In 2019 he received the medal of merit for the city of Vila do Conde, delivered by the City Council and, in the same year, was considered as one of the best young European architects by winning the Europe 40 Under 40 Awards of The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies.

The work built has received several international awards, most notably the 2A Continental Architectural Awards, organized by 2A Magazine, the International Architecture Awards, promoted by The Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design, the IF Design Awards, organized by the IF International Forum Design GMBH, the Iconic Awards, organized by the German Design Council and the Baku International Architecture Award, promoted by the Order of Architects with the support of the International Union of Architects.